Volunteer Nepal National Group: VolNepal

Our Communities


Our Communities



1   Palpa   |   Click here to view our projects in the Palpa District.


Palpa is rich in its collection of wonders. From Palpa, spectacular views of the Annapurna range and several peaks in the Himalayas can be seen. Additionally, the district is rich in religious sites of cultural significance, such as the Ranighat Palace, boasting a similar story to the Taj Mahal, the fort at Tansen, and the Rishikesh Temple, where Hindus bathe in the sacred waters during a yearly festival. Interestingly, the shape of the Palpa district exactly mirrors the shape of Nepal itself.



2   Chitwan   |   Click here to view our projects in the Chitwan District.


This district is most well known by travelers for its luscious jungles and safari trips; in fact, Chitwan takes its name from the words “citta” and “vana”, meaning Heart of the Jungle. The Chitwan Valley is part of the inner Terai Valleys of Nepal - tropical lowlands enclosed on all sides by stunning mountain ranges. The Chitwan National Park boasts the largest species diversity on the subcontinent. With its capital city as Bharatpur, Chitwan has many architectural and cultural sites to enjoy as well.



3   Dhading   |   Click here to view our projects in the Dhading District.


Dhading rests on the lap of the breathtaking Ganesh Himal, and also provides a distant glimpse of the beautiful Manaslu Mountain. Dhading is approximately 80 percent farmland and 20 percent forest. Well known for its natural beauty, Dhading boasts excellent hiking trails, as well as rafting on the thrilling and picturesque Budhigandaki River. Because of the abundant opportunities to trek and raft, the Dhading district has enormous tourism potential if it were fostered.



4   Nuwakot   |   Click here to view our projects in the Nuwakot District.


Nuwakot is made up two words: “nawa”, meaning nine, and “kort”, meaning a hill-top religious site. Appropriately, the district features nine surrounding hills, and according to the locals, a different deity dwells on each, protecting Nuwakot. The district also houses the historic seven-story Nuwakot Durbar. Prithivi Narayan Shah, the first king of the Shah Dynasty, is said to have admired the area, and declared that his capital city should sit on top of Nuwakot Durbar.



5   Kathmandu   |   Click here to view our projects in the Kathmandu District.


Kathmandu is the capital of Nepal; a sprawling urban center of activity. Rich in cultural heritage spanning for over 2000 years, it has no shortage of things to enjoy, including Hindu and Buddhist pilgrimage temples and sites, and boundless samples of delicious local cuisine. Being the central hub of Nepal, festival times make Kathmandu come alive, providing enriching opportunities to see colorful displays of singing and dancing, as well as celebratory and worshipful aspects Newari life.



6   Bhaktapur   |   Click here to view our projects in the Bhaktapur District.


Located in the east corner of Kathmandu Valley, Bhaktapur is an ancient Newar city and is rich in Newari culture. “Bhaktapur” literally means “city of devotees”, and it is famous for its festivals. One of the main attractions is the Bhaktapur Durbar. This palace square is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and is famous for its preserved courtyards, temples, and engraved artwork. Bhaktapur has long been a haven for those wanting to escape the chaos of Kathmandu for small brick walkways and friendly locals.



7   Sindhuli    |   Click here to view our projects in the Sindhuli District.


In addition to its natural treasures, like the many major rivers that run through it, Sindhuli is rich in cultural heritage, featuring several significant temples. An important tourist attraction and pilgrimage site is the Tatopani hot springs, which lay close to the Chinese border. Because of the abundance of adventure activities available in the region such as rafting, bungee jumping and trekking in the nearby Langtang National Park, the potential for growth in the district is immensely promising.



8   Kavrepalanchok   |   Click here to view our projects in the Kavrepalanchok District.


Lying about 60km to the east of Kathmandu, Kavrepalanchok is named after the Goddess, Palanchowk Bhagawati. Her temple is located in the center of the district, on a hill overlooking the nearby villages. The idol of Goddess Bhagawati is decorated with ornaments and garments that are rich in Nepali art. The landscape of this district consists of luscious rolling hills, farm lands, small river tributaries, and mountain ranges such as Langtang, Ganesh Himal, Manaslu Himal and many more. 


Contact Address

Volunteer Nepal National Group (VolNepal)
GPO 9294, Nayabazaar Marg
Kathmandu, Bagmati Zone
44600, Nepal

For General Contact: info@volnepal.org
To Volunteer: volunteer@volnepal.org

Web: https://www.volnepal.org

Quick Contact

}); /*]]>*/